Seeking the Right Version

Thank you Leah for your kind comments about the start to my assessment 2 item. I assure you I felt confident that I was on my way. Then I read through some forum posts and I was a bit less confident in the content descriptors which I had chosen. I had decided to go for Year 3 History as that is ‘somewhere’ I am familiar with as I have still not been allocated my school either for placement. In my post I had decided to use version 7.5 of the curriculum but after reading through the forum I am now going with the version 8. So here is my lesson plan and criteria listed below.

Year 3 Content Descriptions

Days and weeks celebrated or commemorated in Australia (including Australia Day, Anzac Day, and National Sorry Day) and the importance of symbols and emblems (ACHASSK064)

Identifying and discussing the historical origins of an important Australian celebration or commemoration.

Examining the symbolism of flags (for example, the Australian, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander flags) and recognising special occasions when they are flown (for example, all three flags are flown during NAIDOC Week, National Reconciliation Week, National Sorry Day and Mabo Day) and the roles, rights and responsibilities the community has when observing protocols around flag flying

Communicating

Present ideas, findings and conclusions in texts and modes that incorporate digital and non-digital representations and discipline-specific terms (ACHASSI061)Researching

Locate and collect information and data from different sources, including observations (ACHASSI053)

 Standard Elaborations

Understanding and Skills Dimensions – Historical Knowledge and Understanding

Understanding and Skills Dimensions – Communicating

So today I am also working on my pedagogical content knowledge and am reading some suggestions from ‘What pedagogical content looks like in the history classrooms’

2 thoughts on “Seeking the Right Version

  1. Hi Denise,
    Firstly I want to say how good your blog site looks, I am still at the basic stage and to be honest have not has a lot of spare time to ‘play’ with finding all the tricks of the trade in using it. I am encouraged though when I see some of the sites of other students like yourself.
    I wanted to comment on your unit plan. Just some thoughts to share with you. Firstly, before the holidays my grade 3 grandson had a one week lesson whereby he was to choose between researching, writing and presenting information on either Anzac Day or Daffodil Day, Jack chose Anzac Day and he found a lot of his information through the Australian War Memorial Site https://www.awm.gov.au/commemoration/anzac-day.
    The other resource I have used on prac is a picture book by Jackie French titled “A Day to Remember”. The illustrations are created to give the children a sense of time and connection. This is a Utube clip and the book is available on line also. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cy4y2rlAcfs
    These may or may not be useful to you, all the best for assignment 2.

    Regards
    Kathy

    Like

Leave a comment